Present:

Directors:Maureen Agar, Randy Nixon, Kelly Miller, Councilor Bob Fisher, Shelley Stanley,
Laurie Guichelaar, Bevin Witmer, George HatjoulisMunicipal Staff:Jan Hawley, Economic Development OfficerGuests:Shannon Craig

- **1.0** Maureen Agar nominated Bob Fisher, seconded by Kelly Miller to conduct nomination for Chair for 2021-2022 Carried.
- 2.0 Maureen Agar nominated Shelly Stanley as Chair for the 2021-2022, seconded by Laurie Guichelaar. No one else was nominated. Shelly accepted. Carried. Shelly Stanley chaired the meeting as of her nomination.

Maureen Agar nominated Laurie Guichelaar as Vice Chair, seconded by Bob Fisher. No one else was nominated. Laurie accepted. Carried.

Bob Fisher nominated Maureen Agar for Secretary, seconded by Laurie Guichelaar. No One else was nominated. Maureen accepted. Carried.

3.0 Adopt Agenda:

Randy Nixon moved to accept agenda of March 1^{st} , 2021, seconded by Bob Fisher. Carried.

- 4.0 <u>Deputations:</u> none
- 5.0 <u>Minutes of January 11th, 2021</u> Moved by Randy Nixon, seconded by Laurie Guichelaar to accept minutes of January 11th, 2021. Carried.
- 6.0 Declaration of Pecuniary or Conflict of Interest: none

7.0 Business Arising from Minutes:

- (7.1) Bike Racks: EDO Jan Hawley and Maureen Agar went to see the bike racks at Jim Wallace The bike racks are ready to send to be blasted and painted yellow. Pictures were sent to our sponsors Orr Insurance. We are very excited as they are wonderful looking and will look so nice on Main Street. Thanks so much for Orr Insurance for the bike racks!
- (7.2) Audio System: Secretary Maureen explained that the Referral for Proposal for an Audio System. Two companies responded to the Referral with one sending in a proposal. We will request that Balaklava Audio come to our next meeting, either in person or by Zoom, to explain the system before we make our decision.
- (7.3) Time Capsule: Secretary Maureen explained that she is slowing collecting articles for the 2020 time capsule. It was very hard to get articles from the schools as the pandemic made It very difficult for teachers as sometimes they were on-line and sometimes in class. Articles will still be collected for the time capsule this year as there is still construction happening.

(7.4) Safe and Inclusive Neighbourhoods: EDO Jan Hawley spoke about the committee that is working on a strategy for Seaforth. When the committee has everything organized there will be a community meeting to help people understand how to protect themselves and their businesses. The OPP will be printing the cards to be handed out and Huron East has requested 1000. The committee had Lisa Harper come speak about 211 and the Seaforth BIA will request her to do a presentation at our next meeting. Also in the next tax mail out there will be a pamphlet with Information on 211 and how this contact number can help someone....it could be emotional

Issues, homelessness, no food or other problems they may have.

8.0 New Business - Ad Hoc Committees:

(8.1)

Four committees were formed-

Advertising: Randy Nixon, Laurie Guichelaar, Shannon Craig Strategic Plan: Jan Hawley, Shelly Stanley, Laurie Guichelaar, Maureen Agar Events: Kelly Miller, Shelly Stanley, Bevin Witmer, Maureen Agar BIA Centre/Christmas: Maureen Agar

(9.0) Strategic Plan

(9.1) The committee formed for renewing the Strategic Plan for 2021-2026 will meet to discuss changes and updates.

(10.0) Correspondence-

- (10.1) EDO Jan Hawley told the BIA of all the movement in the downtown of Seaforth...even During construction and Covid. Eight buildings have been sold, with on more to close soon. Many of the new owners have contacted the Heritage Committee as the will be refurbishing there buildings.
- (10.2) Councilor Bob Fisher congratulated EDO Jan Hawley on behalf of the Seaforth BIA on winning the Rural Excellence Award and being runner up for the Lt. Governor's Award presented by the Economic Developers Council of Ontario. Seaforth was chosen over many larger centres and this is quite an Honor. Congratulations Jan .

Next Meeting: April 12, 2021at 6:00 pm.

(11.0)

Moved by Bevin Witmer, seconded by Randy Nixon to adjourn meeting at 7:11 pm.